How May We Help You?

For Patients

For Students and Professionals

The Department of Ophthalmology

The department of Ophthalmology of the Howard University College of Medicine was established by the Board of Trustees of Howard University on January 22, 2000. Prior to that date, the Ophthalmology Service, located in the Ambulatory Care Center (Towers Building) at Howard University Hospital, was a division under the Department of Surgery. Our services include:

  • Corneal disease and cataract surgery
  • Diabetic retinopathy
  • Eye alignment disorders (strabismus)
  • Glaucoma
  • Macular degeneration
  • Neuro - ophthalmology
  • Oculoplastics 
  • Low vision
  • Pediatric eye care
  • Refractive surgery
  • Vitreo-Retinals Surgery

Meet the Chair

Leslie Jones, MD
Howard University College of Medicine
Howard University Hospital

Commit to Give

DECEMBER 13, 1955 – APRIL 11, 2016

The impact of Robert A. Copeland, Jr., M.D. on our lives, our patients and the medical field was second to none. We kindly request that you make a donation to the Robert A. Copeland, Jr. M.D. Endowed Chair in honor of his Life, Legacy, Leadership and Vision.

Gifts may be made in Dr. Copeland’s honor online at Select "Other Designation"and in the "Other Fund Description" field, then please enter "Dr. Copeland Fund." Ypu may also download the donation pledge card.

For more information about the Endowed Chair, please contact Dr. Leslie Jones at (202) 865-3302 or

Upcoming Events

September 11th, 2020

27th Annual Roger P. Mason Sr. MD Glaucoma Symposium

December 11th & 18th 2020

Residency Interviews

January 21st, 2021

Mock Oral Board Exam

January 22nd, 2021

Ophthalmology Founders Day

April 21st - 24th 2021

AAO Mid-year Forum and Advocacy Day

June 11th, 2021

35th Annual Lois A. Young, MD Research Symposium and Alumni Day


The Department of Ophthalmology Administrative Offices
Tower Building
Suite 2100
2041 Georgia Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20060

Appointments & Scheduling Phone: (202) 865-1257

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm